Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide

The Red Lion

Pub / Music venue - Vegan Options - Licensed - Non-Smoking

Vegetarian pub with vegan choices; closed Mon

Web Site: www.theveggieredlion.co.uk/index.php

Place added on Dec 20th, 2007

Greenstreet Green, Great Bricett. IP7 7DD Suffolk

United Kingdom (map)

Tel 01473 657799

This place has 14 reviews





Date of visit: October 2014

Found this wonderful totally vegetarian pub online and decided to try it in spite of it being a considerable distance from our holiday home in Norfolk. Well it was definitely worth the drive. A lovely old pub with a good atmosphere, pleasant staff and a fantastic choice of starters and main courses plus a 'specials' board too.

It was so good to be able to take some time to decide what to order instead of the normal limited choices of one or two vegetarian options in the majority of pubs and restaurants.

They also have a take away service of frozen meals @ £3.75 or 3 for £10. We took advantage of this so we can try some of the other meals from the menu.

We will certainly try & get back to The Veggie Red Lion for another visit as soon as we can.

Reviewer Wendy G has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: May 2014

We visited for Sunday dinner when we were visting the area. The food is hearty and homely ( wellington, pie, curry, pasta etc)r ather than Cordon Vert (so not a 'destination' restaurant like Cafe Paradiso or Vanilla Black). With this in mind, it's good food, value for money, and a decent range. The pub itself is very welcoming and the staff were friendly. We'd definitely go again if we were in the area.

Reviewer tansy m (Gwent) has written 13 reviews



Date of visit: March 2013

It was great to discover that there was a veggie pub so close to us, less than an hour away.

The whole experience of lunch was a delight from the enthusiastic welcome all the way through the attentive table service.

The range of food choices was overwhelming to a veggie, we're usually used to one or two choices, whereas here everything is veggie and most can be made vegan and gluten free.

When the food arrived it was both well presented and delicious.

The bill was also a pleasant suprise being well within expectations.

Will return again and again.

Reviewer Stuart H has written no other reviews



Date of visit: August 2012

One of the best veggie places to eat - often full at weekends, so ring to make a reservation if you want to be sure of a table.

Reviewer Mark G has written 12 reviews



Date of visit: August 2012

Had one of the nicest pub meals ever. Tasty, well presented food and wide choice on the menu makes this an appropriate venue for anyone; veggie or not. Great service as well.

Reviewer Lisa H has written no other reviews



Date of visit: November 2010

Excellent atmosphere, excellent food beautifully presented and friendly helpful staff. I would recommend the Red Lion to anybody, but especially to us veggies. I have eaten there on many occasions and my guests have never been disappointed.

Reviewer jennifer b has written no other reviews



Date of visit: July 2010

Fantastic! Our food was delicious, cheaply priced given the portion sizes, and the service was outstanding on a busy Saturday night. The restaurant offered a wide selection of menu variations for the coeliac and vegan members of our group. I cannot wait to go back!

Reviewer Phillip L has written 9 reviews



Date of visit: June 2010

We had our wedding reception at the Red Lion in 2008, and return every year on our anniversary! We absolutely love this place, it's countryside location is fantastic, and the food is amazing! Especially their sweet potato soup! We have it every time we go back :) absolutely the best restaurant/pub in England!

Reviewer Abbie d has written no other reviews



Date of visit: July 2009

2nd visit now and happy to recommend as the food is fantastic. The staff are very friendly and even though we had not booked on a Friday evening they fitted us despite a party of 18 due.

Reviewer Angela T has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: May 2009

Without a doubt the best veggie restaurant I have ever eaten in. We were only in the area for two nights and ended up eating there both evenings, there was such a variety of things we wanted to try.

Reviewer Tim P has written no other reviews



Date of visit: November 2008

We had a very good lunch here one Sunday recently. The portions were of a decent size and the food was beautifully fresh and piping hot. It was lovely to have some pastry choices too, rather than just stews. A tiny niggle was that the salad garnish on my starter and main were identical; it might help the kitchen but just resulted in my leaving it as I had eaten it with my starter. It was rather quiet - only three tables were occupied but I think this will change when the word gets out - and evidently Saturday was very busy. I find it hard to describe this as a pub. It might have been once but to my mind it is a restaurant that serves wine and beer. No matter - the food is fabulous.

Reviewer Veggie Places



Date of visit: June 2008

What a fantastic pub! A great range on the menu and handled a Vegan with no fuss at all. The food was lovely and the portions were huge. Presentation was far above what you'd expect in a pub. The atmosphere was great too. Will certainly be going back there in the future, it's well worth the drive into the middle of nowhere!

Reviewer Pete T has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: April 2008

We went here for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The food was absolutely fantastic. It was great being able to choose from anything on the menu. Service was excellent and the food was prepared fresh and was steaming when it was served. I could not finish mine, which is most unusual. We are most certainly going again and taking friends there. Excellent!

Reviewer Mark B has written no other reviews



Date of visit: December 2007

A 100% vegetarian menu in a cosy country pub. Run by the vegetarian proprietor with a small team of committed friendly staff

Reviewer Jan W (connected with place) has written no other reviews






Share Veggie Places

Login

Email address

Password

Not a member? Registration is fast and free!


Search Entire Site