Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide
London Vegetarian Restaurant Guide

Diwana Bhel Poori House

Veggie Plus

Vegetarian restaurant / cafe - Vegan Options - Non-Smoking

Long established Indian veggie cafe

Place added on May 10th, 2004

121 Drummond Street, London. NW1 2HL London

United Kingdom (map)

Tel 020 7387 5556

London Underground Euston Square - 0.09 miles
London Underground Warren Street - 0.2 miles
London Underground Euston - 0.21 miles

This place has 7 reviews





Date of visit: February 2013

This has to be the cheapest place to fill yourself up at lunchtime. Five mins walk from Euston station. Wide variety of tasty food. Get there at 12 noon to avoid having to queue.

Reviewer Veggie Places



Date of visit: January 2012

I love Diwana. I have been going there for years. I wonder if people know that Diwana and the whole of Drummond Street are under threat of being knocked down?

People who are on Facebook can 'like' the 'Save Drummond Street' page and help stop this from happening.

Reviewer Jo H has written no other reviews



Date of visit: June 2008

I first visited this restaurant about 10 years ago, but haven't been back until a week ago. I have no recollection of what it was like back then but this time i thought it was fantastic.

We went for the lunchtime buffet, and was absolutely staggered by the amount, and variety, of food on offer.

Some things were a little bit too chilli hot for my friend, but i didn't find it so and there were also plenty of dishes without chilli added.

We did try a bit of virtually everything on offer and it was all very tasty, and well cooked, so often with eat as much as you like buffets, the food can become a bit sloppy and over heated, not so here.

It is quite small in there and it did get crowded very quickly, so i would recommend getting there by 12.30.

I must also mention that they also offer sweets and desserts which are fantastic (especially if you have a sweet tooth) and a range of exotic fruits for dessert as well.

Reviewer john d (London) has written 7 reviews



Date of visit: March 2008

I can't remember how many years I have been coming here for lunch, but it must be pushing 30. Fortunately it hasn't changed much: pine cladded walls, bench seats, queueing for a table and always busy. On entering, the posh people go a la carte and turn left and the buffet people (£6.95) turn right. It makes sense to turn up early as you have more choice from the buffet; around 1.45pm they stop re-filling it so some options might not be available. Even so, we had a huge selection and some lovely fruits and sweets for afters. Well worth putting up with the small irritations. Highly recommended.

Reviewer Veggie Places



Date of visit: February 2008

This place is appalling.

The food is overpriced and tastes bland. The portions are small.

The place needs a really good clean, my plates came out with a sticky film of grease on them, the tables and chairs were covered in this greasy sticky film.

The staff seemed ok with good fast service.

This place gives Gujarati food a bad name.

Reviewer Sashi V has written 6 reviews



Date of visit: August 2005

I always had a bhel poori starter followed by a deluxe dosa when eating at the Diwana. The dosa is a rice pancake with a potato filling served with a savoury sauce and coconut chutney. Both are delicious and unavailable in any of the Indian restaurants where I live so its quite a treat when I can get to London. This visit was on a Tuesday so I expected to have my usual but to my surprise they now offer their 'all you can eat buffet' in the week. I do not know when this started as they used to be a weekend affair. Anyway, all ideas of the dosa vanished when I saw the table creaking under the weight of all the vegetarian dishes(and indian sweets). At £6.50 it is a great deal. When you have eaten your fill pop next door to the Indian food shop, crammed full of spices and Indian ingredients and across the road is the Ambala Sweet Centre. Parking was no problem if a little pricy, 20p for 5 minutes. In my view, well worth it.

Reviewer Lynda P (Surrey) has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: February 2004

Having braved the seedy streets around Euston I found this little oasis of Western India tucked away just around the corner from the station.

With lots of wooden benches and a laid back atmosphere this place has a "studenty" feel to it. I visited at lunchtime and it was pretty full by 1pm. They have a choice of a la carte or a fantastic looking eat-all-you-like buffet between 12 and 2-30pm. Unfortunately as a group, you either have to go for one or the other. No table sharing allowed if some are buffet, others a la carte. A bit odd, but I guess they've been taken for a ride in the past!

I had the Thali. This was 3 little pots of Veggie curry, Dhal and salad, a big pot of rice and 4 pooris. For those not in the know, (and that included me until I visited!) a poori is a small round bit of fried Indian bread, a bit like a paratha. Absolutely delicious and very light.

For afters I tried the Mango Melba, which was so good it would have had Dame Nellie singing its praises.

So, if you're unlucky enough to find yourself stuck at Euston, forget the station cafes, and walk the few yards to this little gem....

Reviewer Paul R (Hampshire) has written 2 reviews






Share Veggie Places

Login

Email address

Password

Not a member? Registration is fast and free!


Search Entire Site