Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide

GoKula

Vegetarian restaurant / cafe - Vegan Options - Licensed - Non-Smoking

Watford's ONLY Vegetarian Cafe

Place added on Jul 20th, 2010

65 Market Street, Watford. WD18 0PR Hertfordshire

United Kingdom (map)

Tel 01923353289

This place has 15 reviews





Date of visit: January 2013

The picture doesn't do this place justice, but you can see from the reviews here that the GoKula Cafe is one of those little gems that just waits to be discovered. As a regular, I find it informal, friendly and clean with a tasty menu and nice ambience. But I've seen sooo many first timers treated to the same welcome and made to feel totally at home as well. What else would you expect from a family run business? Apart from running a meatfree menu, it stands out by being a bit of a secondhand bookshop too - the donated titles often reflecting the tastes and interests of friends and wellwishers - some of whom have alternative views on the issues that affect our lives. A lot of people drop by to browse and then finish off with a cuppa or a bite. And there's a wifi connection too, if you need it. I'd so far as to say it's well worth a visit to Watford. And that's saying something.

Reviewer Stephen P has written no other reviews



Date of visit: February 2012

I love going to the Gokula Cafe in Watford, it's a great place to relax and eat some tasty food. They have a great selection and are very friendly. It's refreshing to have a vegetarian eatery in Watford. Even my non-veggie friends have enjoyed the food here.

Reviewer Claire R has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: February 2012

Conveniently located right on the route from the town centre to Watford General and Vicarage Lane football stadium. What an excellent veggie menu with lots of vegan options. Feels like a cafe with lots of reading material and some comfy chairs. My top place to eat in Watford. Only open 10 to 6, not an evening venue.

Reviewer Graham H (Hertfordshire) has written 5 reviews



Date of visit: December 2011

New Opening Times

Mon - Sat 10 - 6, Sunday 11 - 5

Reviewer Ros M (connected with place) has written no other reviews



Date of visit: December 2011

I started stopping by here back in January and have been there at least once a month. Comfortable eating/drinking/reading area at the back. Great coffees. Friendly staff and very accommodating with my little girl. Food is great and the desserts even better. The only complaint I have with this place is that I cant get there more often.

Reviewer Sundesh H has written no other reviews



Date of visit: October 2011

This is a wonderfully warm and welcoming cafe. Chris, Roz and family have created a really nice relaxed atmosphere and some great food. Love their thoughts on cow protection too.

Reviewer Sally S has written no other reviews



Date of visit: April 2011

“Bring your bikes in if you like, lads”. The showery rain looked like it was about get serious, and so was the offer; it’s that kind of café, although we found shelter for the saddlebags under the canopy instead. Having cycled ten miles across muddy fields it wouldn’t have been fair, but it still nice to be called a lad even though my greying hair was covered by a helmet at this point.

GoKula opened in 2010, but feels established. Being apparently Hare Krishna motivated they’re on a mission, but the food has plenty more besides dhal and rice. Actually, I didn’t even spot them on the menu. There’s plenty of home-cooked comfort food including wraps and veggie burgers, with mildly spiced fried potato and salad.

Inexpensive booklets with the theme of cows being wonderful (except on a plate) are propped up for sale, along with second hand disks and books. It was therefore no surprise that a lot of the menu contained cheese. That said, it all made sense without the cheese, and it turned out that everything was egg-free including the coleslaw. Snacks were about £3.50 and meals a couple of pounds more.

There’s an area with arm-chairs at the back, and a very laid-back feel to the place, although we weren’t around for the lunch-time rush. They’ve just started opening late on Thursday to Sunday with an “open mic” on Saturday evenings.

The locally roasted coffee, available with soya milk or that provided by friendly cows, was good. I tried a soya latte with masala spice of their own concoction. “If you don’t like it I won’t charge you”. He said that a lot, and I’m pretty sure everything ended up paid for.

(c) FJL Apr 2011

Reviewer Frank L has written 7 reviews



Date of visit: April 2011

Lovely chilled out place with awesome food. It's so lovely to pick up a menu and being able to choose from every options going! food is fresh and reasonably priced

Reviewer elaine y has written no other reviews



Date of visit: October 2010

This is a great family run business with a capital smile. You are made to feel really welcome. Prices are very reasonable too. Good vegetarian food as well as vegan options. Friendly service and also go out of their way to make sure the customer is satisfied with their order eg went out of their way to make me some fresh guacamole. This place as their slogan says “Not just for vegetarians”. It’s a place where you can also relax; listen to music with a cup of fair-trade coffee and a slice of cheese cake. Sheer bliss..

Reviewer Nitila A has written no other reviews



Date of visit: October 2010

Excellent, freshly cooked wholesome and very reasonably priced food.Lovely fairtrade coffee.

Music nights showcase talented local musicians. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer jane s has written no other reviews



Date of visit: September 2010

Passing through Watford, we decided to seek out Gokula, as it had recieved good reviews on here. To be truthful we were expecting curry, as the first reviewer mentioned the Hare Krishna connections, but it turned out not to be the case, which was absolutely fine.

We had felafel wraps, with salad and potato wedges, and it was lovely. Unfortunately we were in a bit of a rush so never got to try out the cakes/desserts. The price was really good too.

I guess, though, that what made the visit special, was the guy that was serving, he was so nice, chatty without being 'in your face'. I think his attitude reflected the place well, laid back, no fuss and friendly. If I lived near Watford, we'd be popping in there all the time!

Reviewer john d (London) has written 7 reviews



Date of visit: September 2010

I am vegan and found bags of choices and vegan options even though it only advertises as vegetarian. The atmosphere was very friendly and chilled, I got talking to the owner and some of the customers and really felt it was more than just a place to eat. Highly recommended for anyone wanting good quality cheap food in a nice atmosphere, definitely not just for vegetarians.

Reviewer Jessica S has written no other reviews



Date of visit: August 2010

It is fantastic to finally have a veggie only cafe in Watford!

It is located in Market street, the "alternative" Watford high street, run by friendly people and has reasonable prices.

I have tried the soup, nachos, falafel wraps and veggie burgers, and all of them are nice, especially with grilled vegs as a side. Perfect for a quick lunch on a working day, but also to sit outside, relax and enjoy the best coffee and cheesecake in Watford on a sunny weekend afternoon.

Reviewer Francesco A (London) has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: July 2010

Family run veggie cafe. Fully Vegetarian eating place, serving a variety of tasty hot and cold snacks and delicious freshly roasted locally Fair Trade Organic coffee provided by The Natural Coffee Company. Has outdoor seating and free Wi-Fi.

Reviewer Adam C (connected with place) has written no other reviews



Date of visit: June 2010

Mon - Sat:

9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Run by Hare Krishna friends of mine - lacto but with plenty of vegan options.

Reviewer John E has written no other reviews






Share Veggie Places

Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide


Login

Email address

Password

Not a member? Registration is fast and free!


Search Entire Site