Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide

The Big Strawberry

Vegetarian restaurant / cafe - Vegan Options - Non-Smoking

Coffee Lounge and Sandwich Bar

Web Site: thebigstrawberry.co.uk

Place added on Dec 30th, 2011

Unit 1 Grosvenor Chambers Foundry Street,, Stoke-on-Trent. ST1 5HE West Midlands (Staffordshire)

United Kingdom (map)

Tel 07955530345

This place has 11 reviews





Date of visit: June 2013

In the past year I've been visiting The Big Strawberry the food has been amazing, and the people have been so much fun to hang around with, they can always cheer you up when needed, their place is clean, their food is excellent and their drinks are brilliant, every time I visit this place they never fail to make me happy, this is one of the best places to go to for vegetarian and vegan food, they do a big range of dishes and I have tried many of them and I am highly impressed by everything they have produced!

Reviewer B'jay K has written no other reviews



Date of visit: March 2013

Plenty of character here, or should that be characters? It's the place with personality. You can sit upstairs for a quiet relaxed meal, or you can join the locals for a chat downstairs as you watch your hostess prepare your food. We did both on varying days and found them equally enjoyable. The food is tasty -we had the all day breakfast- and the fruit cocktails were the nicest we've had anywhere. There seems to be a cake of the day and during our time it took the form of elaborate cupcakes, each flavour of which we indulged. (Well, how often do vegans get the chance?) Ridiculously cheap. If the prices were doubled they would still be reasonable. It's top of our list for when we are back in Stoke.

Reviewer pat r has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: January 2013

You must visit this cafe!! It is excellent , me and my mum are both vegan and find it difficult to eat out . It was amazing to just go into a cafe and be able to have anything on the menu and know it is cruelty free :) . The service is lovely , the owner is so friendly and always has a smile even when she's working on her own ensuring she was taking orders , preparing the food from scratch and serving everyone :) . Very good value as vegan food is quite expensive and it shows the owner is passionate about being vegan and meeting other vegan's dietary needs rather than money making :) . We will definitely be visiting regularly :) and I recommend it to everyone.

Reviewer Jade E has written no other reviews



Date of visit: September 2012

I have been meaning to visit The Big Strawberry for a while. I did today and was not disappointed. The cafe now has an entirely vegan menu. The range is really good and incredibly cheap. I had the Red Pepper, Jalepeno and Houmous Pannini. Inspired! It was delicious and with a soya cappucino came to less than 5 (plus a taste of the vegan bakewell tart, which simply must go on the cake counter, and a free cookie for good measure :-D). The owner (I am sorry I didn't ask your name) was friendly and so enthusiastic about what she and her partner are doing. I will be eating there again whenever I go to Stoke and encourage others to do the same. This place deserves to stay! :-)

Reviewer Kim W has written no other reviews



Date of visit: September 2012

We visited the Big Strawberry on September 1st and enjoyed it very much. Very friendly service and food was excellent too. A decent range of food choices and being vegans we were very pleased about that . We plan a return visit soon. Tim & Dana Brooks (Burton)

Reviewer Tim B has written no other reviews



Date of visit: August 2012

This is the most fantastic restaurant I have visited. People lovely friendly and helpful. I was late getting there, not long before closing, no sign of my partner. She made up an amazing goody bag to take away. Soups, sandwiches/wraps, two main courses and more. Everything was delicious and well wrapped for me to take by bus back to hotel without spills. There was Mr Popple's chocolate for afters. Brilliant. We want/need a Big Strawberry in Oxford!

Reviewer jane a has written no other reviews



Date of visit: July 2012

Turned up today having biked it from Manchester. Great food, great service, nice people, loads of choice and great value. Give this place a go. You'll love it.

Reviewer Jim M has written no other reviews



Date of visit: February 2012

What a place. Almost missed it... was taking a short cut from carpark to Trinity St.. it is opposite Chicago Rock.

Lovely people, lovely place... good food. Only complaint? IT WASNT BUSY ENOUGH! Come on, anyone near to Hanley, ST1.. tell everyone about it. You dont have to be Vegan (erm but please think abut it...) it is just great food that happens to be V..

Reviewer KT P has written no other reviews



Date of visit: February 2012

This is by far the best place to eat and I live in Manchester where there a fair few veggie/vegan restaurants! I as a veggie, my mother as a meat eater, both had the vegan bacon cheese burgers and LOVED! Filling and full of flavour! We were utterly spoilt for choice and without the usual spinach and ricotta cannelloni in sight. The cafe is beautifully decorated with a wide collection of literature that could interest anyone. As for the staff, the lady who served us was a pure delight and the gentleman showed so much passion and pride for the food he created. I have already picked what I want for my next visit and would advise anyone and everyone to go and try it!

Reviewer Emma B has written no other reviews



Date of visit: February 2012

This place is amazing! Knocks the spots off some of the veggie/vegan cafes in Brighton and London. Had great, friendly service and a really lovely lunch out. Had a vegan breakfast panini, coffee and banana bread. Banana bread was delicious (had to pick up a slice to take away) and sandwich was yummy too. Will definitely be making a return visit! It was so cheap - sandwich and coffee and cake for £5. Decor both upstairs and really brightens up the Hanley sidestreet - location great and central too. Can't say anything bad about this place :) Stoke needs more vegan-friendly places, and The Big Strawberry has definitely set the bar very high!

Reviewer Sam B has written no other reviews



Date of visit: December 2011

Small quirky new veggie cafe with lots of vegan options. The vegan breakfast roll was nice and filling, while the soups are healthier and tasty. Vegan coffee and hot chocolate available, some vegan sweet things - it was mince pies yesterday!

The veggies of Stoke on Trent really need this place to survive so please pop in and support it!

Reviewer Liz W has written 26 reviews






Share Veggie Places

Login

Email address

Password

Not a member? Registration is fast and free!


Search Entire Site