Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide

Cafe Paradiso

Vegetarian restaurant / cafe - Vegan Options - Non-Smoking

Cafe style eatery

Place added on Jun 1st, 2005

9 Priory Lanes, Northgate, Chichester. PO19 1AR West Sussex

United Kingdom (map)

Tel 01243 532967

This place has 11 reviews




Date of visit: February 2013

Despite the opera music that always seems to be playing and the food being a bit lukewarm, I still like this self service place.

There is a choice of hot dishes (kept warm on a hotplate) and then one may choose four salads from a decent selection.

Staff are always friendly. Very handy for North Walls car park.

Reviewer Veggie Places



Date of visit: March 2011

The Cafe Paradiso salads are wonderful and are fantastic value for money. The coffee was the best cup I had in months. The almond and pistachio or hazlenut and chocolate pastries are a must too.

Reviewer Sehila C has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: March 2011

The Cafe Paradiso salads are wonderful and are fantastic value for money. The coffee was the best cup I had in months. The almond and pistachio or hazlenut and chocolate pastries are a must too.

Reviewer Sehila C has written 2 reviews



Date of visit: March 2011

I recommend Cafe Paradiso the food is beautiful and the staff lovely, a great way to lunch.

Reviewer annie j has written no other reviews



Date of visit: November 2009

Only one vegan option, person I spoke to didn't consider it a vegan restaurant!

Reviewer Maureen S has written no other reviews



Date of visit: April 2009

This is a million miles away from what I regard as the "real" Paradiso in Cork and it's tucked away right down the end of North Street in a shopping centre complex, but the lunch we had on Saturday was perfectly tasty and a nice change from the ubiquitous sandwich. Cheap too for home made food; two lasagne with choice of salads and a drink each for less than £18. (Doh! forgot to take a pic, again. Maybe someone nice will oblige.)

Reviewer Veggie Places



Date of visit: August 2008

A very popular cafe,we visited at lunchtime and the place was packed (you may have to share a table). I didn't notice any specific vegan options, but the veggie ones were excellent. Everything is fresh cooked and all of the options looked very good. Very friendly and helpful staff and good fast service.

Reviewer Dave R (Cambridgeshire) has written 20 reviews



Date of visit: April 2008

This bright and cheerful vegetarian eatery is conveniently located in a small shopping arcade a minute or two's walk from the Chichester Festival Theatre car park.

I would recommend this establishment for vegetarians, but on the day we were there the only vegan dish available was an - admittedly very good - chilli with potato wedges. And from the way the menu appears to work, I suspect that it would just about always be the only vegan dish available!

We asked about the soup, which we were told was not vegan because there was butter in it. Now it's actually pretty difficult to make a vegetarian soup that ISN'T also vegan, and surely in any considerate vegetarian eatery the soup of the day should always be vegan. No?

I'm afraid that the lack of proper provision for vegans at vegetarian places is going to be a recurring theme of my reports. After all, omnivorous restaurants increasingly make some effort for vegetarians, so it's a bit outrageous that vegetarian eateries don't show more concern for their vegan brothers and sisters! (It's not difficult to have a few vegan dishes on the menu - and they won't scare away the vegetarians...)

Reviewer Southern V (Hampshire) has written 36 reviews



Date of visit: July 2006

A useful lunch stop - and always busy. Food is nothing special (but veggy of course!) but it's reasonably priced - mains now 5.95 and the cafe service is fast.

Reviewer Nick A (London) has written 5 reviews



Date of visit: December 2005

I have visited Chichester's

Cafe Paradiso dozens of times.

Whilst it is not cutting edge veggie food, it is the best place for miles around. and most of the dishes are about £5!

Great staff, nice atmosphere, good quality food and well worth a visit.

Yes, it is a self-service cafe (well more of a coffee shop than caff!) and not a bistro or restaurant and the menu is a bit (ok, very) limited and yes a tad 1970s.

But it does what it sets out to do very well indeed! Mike

Reviewer mike E (West Sussex) has written no other reviews



Date of visit: October 2005

This is tucked away in a modern shopping mall at the bottom end of North Street, away from the main centre. You would never stumble across it, so make a note if you are ever in the area. Counter service: you choose your food that is on display and find a table. Hot main meals - a bit 1970’s - baked potato, vegetable lasagne, chilli - served with a choice of simple salads. Food was tasty if a bit unadventurous. Can run out of hot food if busy so try to get there early. Choral music seemed a bit out of place but otherwise a pleasant enough find; young staff very friendly but not too knowledgeable. They claim to use free range egg but the mayonnaise is made from battery eggs. Open every day, including Sunday.

Reviewer Veggie Places






Share Veggie Places

Travel de la Creme - Luxury Hotels Worldwide


Login

Email address

Password

Not a member? Registration is fast and free!


Search Entire Site